Summer

 

It is so hard to believe that Summer is coming to an end.  I can not believe how fast the time has went, since I have been working on the farm.  Over the last two weeks I have been reflecting on the summer and I have to say I have enjoyed myself.  Working on the farm is overwhelming and we never seem to get it all finished, but it is rewarding.  My kids have been right beside me the whole way.  It has been good and bad.  I have to hope they are learning the value of hard work, but they slow me down even on a good day.  They are constantly asking for drink or food and I have to worry that some kind of accident could happen.  They have been a big help at times, by opening gates or cleaning things up for me.  I will miss them once school starts, but I am looking forward to getting some things done.

I have also been reflecting on how it feels to be doing a different job.  It didn’t feel real until a week ago, when I would have been going back to school.  I kept waiting on myself to start feeling sad, to miss something, and I haven’t yet.  I feel guilty that I haven’t missed any part of it yet.  I saw on facebook where my teacher friends had fixed up their classrooms and I felt nothing.  I went to open house with my own kids and I felt nothing.  So after much thought, going back to a classroom is not in my plans.  I don’t know what the future holds, but I know I love farming.  I didn’t really realize how much I missed it until this summer started.  I can tell you that I am still pretty stressed out at times, which does remind me of teaching.  Just this past week we were chopping corn silage, which leaves little ole me to do a lot of stuff.  It wouldn’t have been so bad if we weren’t having a baby boom.  In just 2 days we had 13 calves born.  It is great to have that many cows coming in, but its stressful when you aren’t used to it.  If I get a chance maybe I will blog about what we have been up to.

Leave a Reply

