Sweet potatoes again…..

I’m sure you guys are tired of hearing about sweet potatoes.  That’s pretty much all I have to talk about right now at this point in time.  We are finished with our second round of planting.  This time we used plants that we had bought from some farmers out East of us.  We are trying some new varieties, that I am really excited about.  We are doing some real red potatoes with orange flesh and some purple and white potatoes.  My plan is to make a colorful variety box to sell around Christmastime.  I think sweet potatoes would make a great Christmas gift, don’t you!  Well fruit baskets are a thing so surely a potato basket isn’t too crazy.  We are about a whole week ahead of schedule with potatoes this year.  Now the next move is to watch them and “cultivate” when the weeds start growing.  Of course, potatoes are not the only farming thing that my husband has been up to.  He has been very busy this week and I bet next week will be just as busy.  I love and hate this time of year.  I love all the excitement of planting and preparing for spring harvest, but I hate that we are so busy.  We stay so busy we rarely have time to do anything as a family that doesn’t involve farming.  This past week we have been getting the combine ready, spraying, and planting corn.  That is just a little of what has been going on.  We feel very behind, because usually all the corn is already planted and most of the soybeans.  The weather played a big part in putting us behind, you just can’t plant seeds into completely dry ground.  Thankfully now we have been getting lots of rain to help us out.  Well because we are so behind my husband had to ask for my help driving the tractor.  Asking for my help is not ideal, because I really don’t know what I am doing.  I mean I know the basics, but I do not know how to troubleshoot.  I just don’t feel very comfortable doing something so important.  I was terrified that I would do something wrong, but in the end it all worked out.

161 158

Leave a Reply

