A January Lull

Well I know complaining about January being sort of boring would be a bad idea.  I should be enjoying the simplicity of it all.  The ease of our day to day life right now.  I am slowing down and catching my breath and I am extremely thankful for such a break……. but I am slightly bored.  I have even been leaving work before 4:30 most days. That way I get home with plenty of time to get dinner on the table and love on my babies. I can’t be completely bored, because three little boys keep me on my toes.  My full time job definitely keeps me on my toes. January is not a break time for farmers, even though for me this feels like a break. The winter time is when most farmers get a chance to work on or service their equipment. January is just such a peaceful time and a planning time.  Even with a break we have tons that can be done and that has to be done.  I have to finish wrapping up last year by getting all our taxes and records complete.  My hubby has to start getting things prepared for next year and we have a little bit of learning to do before we start.  We both were able to attend the South East Regional Vegetable and Fruit Growers Conference in Savannah, GA.  I had a good time and learned a lot. I don’t want to go into everything, but it really helped me to see what we have to do differently this year with our sweet potato crop. I got up early this morning to sit down and start my own planning. After that my husband and I can work together to get everything going. We know this year we are going to grow some of our own slips. That way we will cut down on some of our cost. We also already have all the equipment pretty much set up and ready to go. This year we will feel a lot more prepared. Last year it was at the vegetable conference that my husband started with the idea to grow sweet potatoes. So I guess you can say we have been doing this for a year now!

Leave a Reply

