Harvest 2014

The Black family has been really busy.  It all began about a month ago when I went back to work.  The beginning of the year for a teacher has to be the most exhausting time.  I still don’t feel like I have gotten caught up at work.  Of course on top of that we have started soccer.  I am officially a soccer mom!  It isn’t too bad we have one practice a week and then a game on Saturdays.  Between teaching and taking care of little people I am busy enough.  On top of my daily activities, there are tons of things to do with farming this fall.  Many times I have been afraid my hubby has decided to do too much.  He has had a hard time getting everything started and keeping it going.

About two weeks ago, we went over to the sweet potato field and found out that they were a great size.  I wish all he would have had to do was just go out and dig them up, but it is a little more complicated than that.  First sweet potatoes have to be cured if you plan on keeping them for any amount of time.  The ones that you buy in the grocery store have been cured and can actually stay good for up to 8 months if they are in a cool dry environment.  In order to cure the potatoes, they have to kept at 95 degrees with 90% humidity.  Now when my hubby first hatched this plan, he decided to get a refrigerated trailer to put them in.  He asked around and the sweet potato guys told us that it would work.  My husband being the kind of last minute guy that he is, bought the trailer the day before he wanted to start digging.  I was very worried that we would have no where to put all these thousands of potatoes.  So the day before he had his first picking, we both went over to try out the plow.

.  image

This was the first try and the plow wasn’t working just right, because you should be seeing tons of potatoes just on top of the ground.  It took a few tries but I think my hubby finally has got the plow working right.  The only problem is now our tractor is broke down again!  We have had the most trouble out of this tractor.  We will be trading this tractor in very soon if I have my way.

image

So we got about 1/6 of the potatoes dug up and curing.  We sold a few right away, here they are in the local store that is selling some of our stuff.  We are praying that the tractor is fixed this week and we get the rest dug up.

image

 

 

Leave a Reply

