My favorite time of the year

We have been extremely busy the last month and I don’t think we are going to slow down much for the next month.  Of course the hubby has been busier than me, but he hasn’t given me much free time.  I know with my last post I was talking about planting our sweet potatoes.  We easily finished up the next morning after the big storm.  The plants actually handled the storm very well.  There were a few places in the field that washed away a little, but the hail only did minimal damage.  We still had to have the insurance adjuster come out and check out everything.  He had to check our corn too.  The amazing thing is how quickly plants can come back from hail damage, now that it’s been about 3 weeks I can’t even tell any of the corn had damage.  It definitely affected some of the yield, but things could have been so much worse.

The hubby has been trying to cut wheat and plant soybeans.  During that time my main job is to drive behind him with the truck pulling the combine header.  He really can’t travel down the road with the header on, it takes up the whole road.  It isn’t a difficult job, but it is time consuming.  We have done a lot of traveling with the combine this year.  The hubby had to cut for a couple of other people that were pretty far away from our house.  Harvest season is almost over, we finished up our last field yesterday.  Harvest is a little behind this year, because we had a good bit of rain during the beginning of June.  The boys have really enjoyed riding in the combine, they have to take turns, so I have to keep running back and forth.

combine

The other job that I have been working on has been our garlic.  I’ve been cleaning it up a little and getting it ready for the farmer’s market.  It isn’t very time consuming and wouldn’t take long at all, except for the fact that we have so much of it!  I’m not really sure what the hubby was thinking when he planted to much.  We definitely won’t have any vampires coming around.  I have also been cooking everything with garlic and feeding it to my chickens.  After I read that garlic was a natural wormer, I’ve been giving it to them once a week.

garlic

It’s so hard for me to believe that my summer vacation is over halfway gone.  Once school starts back not only will I be very busy but my hubby will get busy too.  He works pretty hard during the fall combining corn and selling deer corn.  Well I’m hoping I can at least blog once a month or so.  Until next time.

Leave a Reply

