New Beginnings(part 2)

Alright so I really feel like I am on a roll with blogging now!  I actually have a couple other blogs going in a draft state.  I wanted to get this one posted pretty quickly because I know I left everyone hanging with what our next step was with the sweet potato plants.  We got up bright and early on Saturday (my first official day of summer break) and headed different directions.  I went to check the field to see just how muddy it was and the hubby went to finish working on his setters.  A setter is this really cool machine that attached to the back of the tractor.  People actually sit on it and feed little plants into the ground.  At the bottom it first puts a whole in the ground, then some water, and then it drops in the plant.  The whole thing looked pretty cool!  We are only trying this out, so we got a two-row setter.

 

0615140841

So it took most of the day to get everything ready and then to try out the setter.  We started with family and planted about eight rows, we were missing the people who usually walk behind.  The next day we had lots of help and an early start.  Even with that we didn’t get nowhere near as far as we had planned.  The machine had to have lots of adjustments and everyone was new to planting this way.  It was also Father’s Day and I made the hubby quit a little early so that I could fix him a nice steak dinner.

0614141810b

 

On the third day, we got an even earlier start.  Everyone also knew exactly what they were doing, so we moved along quickly.   We worked, sweated, wiped our brows, and worked some more.  It felt pretty good to move on up the field.  Around 4:30 we were so close we could see the finish line.  The sky had been looking pretty dark and thunder was rumbling in the distance.  I tried my best to just stay focus and hurry.  I knew I wanted to get as many little plants in the ground, so that they could enjoy the rain.  I really just got into a groove pushing little plants in the ground and ignoring the clouds that were coming.  I remember looking up a few times and thinking the sky looked so dark.  Finally it started sprinkling a little rain, but we worked even harder.  I mean we were about ten short rows from being completely finished.  The rain started coming down harder and we decided to run out of the field.  I ran to my car thinking I would try to get it out of the field, but once I got in there I realized my hubby had me blocked in.  He had run and jumped in his truck so we were stuck in two different trucks.  As soon as I feel so thankful for rain, we start to have hail.  It was a terrible sinking feeling to watch 3 days of hard work get beat with hail.  It was just such an emotional thing, we went from being so excited that morning to being devastated after the storm.  To make everything much worse, my dad calls and tells me that some of the buildings at the dairy.  At that point I ran and jumped in the truck with my hubby, so we could drive the tractor home.  After the storm we came out and assessed the damage.  Here are some pictures to close out this post.

commodity shed

commodity shed2

Leave a Reply

