Wow I had good intentions about my blog but it definitely hasn’t worked out like I planned.  Life happened and I just haven’t had the time.  With working full time and having 3 little boys I just can’t seem to get anything finished.  This was my first year teaching third grade and while I loved it, it took lots of work.  I know in my last post I said that my hubby farmed a few acres of his own.  We decided that since our acreage was limited we should try some produce.  That and the fact that he works for a guy that grows and sells produce.  Both of us grew up with a garden and have been planting one since we got married.  It is one of our favorite things to do together.  He has been talking to lots of people and feels pretty good about trying something new.  Everything has actually worked out very well for us so far.  We decided that the first thing we would try would be garlic.  It wasn’t something that is people typically grow in our area, so we thought we would give it a try.   The hubby planted it in the fall and he just harvested it about 3 weeks ago.

072

It has been hanging up and drying since then.  I’m pretty sure its ready, but we have sweet potatoes on our mind.  Once the sweet potatoes are all planted, I will be bundling and preparing garlic.  I can’t wait to see it on its way to farmer’s markets in our area.

0614141505

Garlic

Leave a Reply

